How to completely wipe an Android phone

wipe

wipe an Android phone

Our cell phone holds a large amount of our personal information. In addition, these little smart devices come with us as gateways to our social media accounts, virtual wallets, and online stores. That’s why we need to protect this data properly, especially when we intend to sell or discard our device. In such cases, it is better to completely clean your Android phone.

If you are going to sell or discard your mobile phone, you must first clear the information on the device properly. In this article, we will teach you tips so that you can clean your Android phone with complete security.

Before cleaning your Android phone, make sure that:

  • Delete all passwords stored in your browsers.
  • Remove your SIM card from the phone.
  • Clear all passwords stored in your apps and prevent them from being synced with associated accounts.
  • Sign out of all accounts associated with your phone.
  • Encrypt your data. This way, even if someone can access it, they will not be able to see it.

Follow these steps to encode your data:

1. Go to Settings -> Security & location.

2. Select the Advanced option.

3. Click Encryption & credentials.

4. Now select the Encrypt phone option.

  • Delete bank accounts and credit cards connected to your phone.
  • Exit Android Beta if you are using a Pixel or Nexus phone.

How to back up your data on Android

To back up your data on Android you need:

Go to Settings.

Tap System.

Select the Advanced option.

Now tap on Backup.

Set this option to On to save your data to Google Drive.

Android 8.1 and later automatically backs up your text messages (excluding call logs). If you are looking for a safer way to save your text messages and call logs, you can use a third-party tool to do so.

You must also sync your applications with your Google Account. Google applications do this automatically. If this does not happen, you can sync them manually.

Go to Settings.

Tap Accounts.

Then set the Automatically sync data button to On.

Please note that in order to sync other applications, you must go to the settings section of each of the desired applications and synchronize them manually.

Also, if you want to back up your photos:

Open the Google Photos app.

Sign in to your account.

Tap the three horizontal line icon in the upper left corner of the screen.

Select the Settings option.

Tap Back up & sync.

Activate it by tapping the button next to the Back up to Google Drive option.

How to completely clean your Android phone

To reset an Android phone, you must first disable its factory reset protection (FRP) feature.

Go to Settings.

Select Accounts.

Tap on your account.

Select the Remove Account option.

Now you can take Android to factory settings and clean your phone. Follow the steps below to reset your Android phone:

Go to Settings -> System.

Tap Advanced -> Reset Options.

Select the Erase all data (factory reset) option.

Click the Reset phone button.

Then click the Erase everything button to return your phone to its original state.